Table of Contents
 Overview
 Timetable
 Daily Time Limits
 Traffic Limits
 Logs & Charts
 Users & Groups
 Main Settings
 Internet Filtering
 CyberSieve Client
 Silent Installation
 Deploy CyberSieve
 Command Line
 Uninstall

<< Previous Page      Next Page >>  


Users and Groups

 Screen Shot

CyberSieve allows you to set up different levels of restrictions for each member of your family depending on their maturity, interest, habits and parental control needs.

The level of Internet access can be set from no restriction for you as administrator to total prohibition.

It is possible to edit settings only for a group of users. So each user must be included into the group of users with appropriate level of restrictions. This way users with the same level of restrictions will be combined into one group, and all users in one group have identical settings.

The CyberSieve application identifies a user by the same login name the user enters when he/she logs in to Windows. If you did not add a new login onto the user list of CyberSieve, the program will add them automatically to the "Guests" group.
Please note that users of computers, where CyberSieve's Client version is installed, will not be displayed in the "Guests" group of the "Users and Groups" page of the Server computer.
If necessary, users of Client versions might be added into the "Guests" group or any other group.

The program will automatically add the administrator who did the CyberSieve installation into the "Administrators" group.

CyberSieve software contains the following built-in users groups:
  • Administrators: Built-in account for administering CyberSieve. Please note, that all unregistered computer administrators who did the CyberSieve installation will be added to this group automatically.
  • Guests: Built-in account for guest access to the Internet. Please note that all unregistered users will be added to this group automatically.
  • Users: Built-in account for restricted users.

Computer name added to user name for identification of a user in a network, i.e. "Computer_name/User" or "Computer_name/Windows_login_name".

If a user with the Windows login name "User" must have identical settings on all computers, then you have to use the "*/User" format. For example, if the "School_users" group has a user with the name "*/John", than a user with the login "John" will have the settings of the "School_users" group. This way of identification allows an administrator to not have to attach users to some particular computer.

  • Disable Filtering


  • To disable the CyberSieve filtering for a selected group, mark the "Disable Filtering" checkbox. The CyberSieve icon in the system tray near the clock should change its color to gray.

  • Disable Internet


  • To switch off the Internet for a selected group, mark the "Disable Internet" checkbox. All future attempts to connect to the internet for the selected group will be blocked. The icon in the system tray near the clock should change its color to red.

  • Deny use of IP Address in URL


  • As you may know, any resource on the Internet can be reached either by the host name (for example, www.msn.com) or directly by its IP address (for example, 207.68.172.246). Using the IP address to get access to some resource decreases the possibilities to control it. Such a circumstance is independent of the CyberSieve's developers and includes the following limitations in the case of using IP addresses:
    • Ability to check the link by URL pattern is significantly limited.


    • Possibility of checking a URL by template (like *.msn.com) is significantly limited.


    • In this case the only sensible means is to check the IP address itself. This procedure is rather unreliable, because many Web Servers with suspicious content change their hosting frequently, and as a result, their IP address is changed as well.
    That is why we recommend you to prohibit using IP addresses as URLs to increase your security level.

  • Group Description


  • You can keep a group description in this field.

  • CyberSieve Warnings


  • Select "Don't show CyberSieve warnings" if you do not want to receive CyberSieve warning messages. Please keep in mind that without such a warning the user will not know that a resource has been blocked.
    However, you can always review the full protocol of all blocked resources and reasons for those blockages in the log files. You can select the most appropriate warning from these two possibilities: amusing, child-friendly pop-ups for your kids or respectable auto-hiding pop-ups for your associates.

  • Custom Warning


  • You can set up your own warning message instead of those provided by default.
    To preview a Custom Warning, click on the "Test" button.
    If you mark the "Show custom warning" checkbox, but leave it empty, CyberSieve will not display any message at all. Keep in mind that without such warning, the user will not know that a resource has been blocked.
    However, you can always review the full protocol of all blocked resources and reasons for those blockages in the log files.

  • Enable filtering at startup


  • To enable the CyberSieve filtering for a selected group, when the program startup, mark the "Always enable filtering at startup" checkbox.

  • Enable strict filter for search engines


  • The CyberSieve integrates with "Safe Search" options found in popular search engines such as Google, MSN, Yahoo, etc. This means your children can't search on a search engine and even see links to blocked sites.

  • Forbid images and videos sections for search engines


  • This feature enables better protection against any images and videos when doing an "Images" or "Videos" search.

  • Add new group and new user


  • To add a new group, click the "New Group" button and type the group name. To add a new user from a local PC, select the group, click the "New User" button and select the Computer/User or type the user name. The name of the local computer will be added automatically.
    To add a new user from a remote PC, select the group, click the "New User" button, click on "Type User from remote PC" checkbox, type the remote computer name and remote user name as Computer/User.
    To delete an existing group or user from the list, use the "Delete" button.
    To rename the group or user name, use the "Rename" button.
    You cannot delete or rename the following groups: 'Administrators', 'Guests' and 'Users'.

    IMPORTANT:
         The CyberSieve application identifies a user by the same login name the user enters when he logs in to Windows. If you did not add a new login onto the user list of CyberSieve, the program ads them automatically to the "Guests" group. We recommend forbidding Internet access for the "Guests" group, if you do not want somebody from your family to work on the Internet anonymously.

    << Previous Page      Next Page >>




    About SoftForYou   Privacy   Legal   Contact Us

    Copyright  20002011  SoftForYou