Table of Contents
 Overview
 Timetable
 Daily Time Limits
 Traffic Limits
 Logs & Charts
 Users & Groups
 Main Settings
 Internet Filtering
 CyberSieve Client
 Silent Installation
 Deploy CyberSieve
 Command Line
 Uninstall

<< Previous Page      Next Page >>  


CyberSieve Client

 Screen Shot

The CyberSieve Client software keeps all data synchronized with the server. This allows the administrator to control all installed copies of CyberSieve from one administrator computer without the necessity to make all changes separately on each computer.

The synchronization procedure transmits all data, including the manually edited Web Sites, News Groups, Inappropriate Words and Programs lists. All settings for e-mail notifications, daily reports, timetables and traffic limits are transmitted as well as the password, security question/answer and enable/disable status.

Client synchronizes with Server through a local network, if the "Enable Synchronization via Local Area Network" radiobox is enabled or through the remote Web Server, i.e. though Internet, if the "Enable Synchronization via Internet" radiobox is turned on.
For Client/Server synchronization through a local network, the Client should automatically find the CyberSieve Server and you should see the Server's IP address in the control panel.
If the IP address field is empty or wrong, please add it manually. This can be either the Server computer's IP address or Server computer's name in your local network.
Client tries to synchronize with Server with periodicity defined by the "Frequency" selector.
Client receives new database from Web Server. The "Update" button can be used to change parameters for update procedure.

To run the synchronization procedure manually, click on the "Synchronize" button. Just after clicking on the button, the synchronization will follow. To cancel the update operation, click on the "Cancel" button. If you temporarily disable the program, pressing the "Synchronize" button will restore the previous settings, which were set on the server for this particular user.

Use the "Log Files" button for review of log files on a Client. During synchronization log files are sent to the Server every time, and erased from the Client.

If you use a HTTP proxy server for Internet connection, you should instruct CyberSieve to use this HTTP proxy server. To do this, push the "Proxy" button and enter required data.

A CyberSieve synchronization client runs as a Windows Service on Win2000, WinXP, Win2003, Vista and Windows 7 operation systems. This allows synchronization requests to be performed even if no user is logged into the system and also if a user is logged out the system.


Note for an administrator of the Network version:
      If you did not add a user into the users list of CyberSieve on the server, then this user on the client computer will use the "Guest" group privileges. We recommend forbidding Internet access for the "Guests" group if you do not want users to work on the Internet anonymously.

Note:
      If you are using a Personal Firewall on the client PC, you should add the CyberSieve Synchronization Module (cssvr.exe from your Windows' System directory) into the Trusted Programs List of that Firewall.

<< Previous Page      Next Page >>




About SoftForYou   Privacy   Legal   Contact Us

Copyright  20002011  SoftForYou