Table of Contents
 Overview
 Timetable
 Daily Time Limits
 Traffic Limits
 Logs & Charts
 Users & Groups
 Main Settings
 Internet Filtering
 iProtectYou Client
 Silent Installation
 Deploy iProtectYou
 Command Line
 Uninstall

<< Previous Page      Next Page >>  


Users and Groups

 Screen Shot

iProtectYou allows you to set up different levels of restrictions for each member of your family depending on their maturity, interest, habits and parental control needs.

The level of Internet access can be set from no restriction for you as administrator to total prohibition.

The iProtectYou application identifies a user by the same login name the user enters when he/she logs in to Windows. If you did not add a new login onto the user list of iProtectYou, the program will add them automatically to the "Guests" group.
Please note that users of computers, where iProtectYou's Client version is installed, will not be displayed in the "Guests" group of the "Users and Groups" page of the Server computer.
If necessary, users of Client versions might be added into the "Guests" group or any other group.

The program will automatically add the administrator who did the iProtectYou installation into the "Administrators" group.

iProtectYou software contains the following built-in users groups:
  • Administrators: Built-in account for administering iProtectYou. Please note, that all unregistered computer administrators who did the iProtectYou installation will be added to this group automatically.
  • Guests: Built-in account for guest access to the Internet. Please note that all unregistered users will be added to this group automatically.
  • Users: Built-in account for restricted users.

  • Disabling iProtectYou


  • To temporarily disable the iProtectYou program for a selected group or user without losing your settings, mark the "Disable iProtectYou" check box. The iProtectYou icon in the system tray near the clock should change its color to gray.

  • Disabling Internet


  • To temporarily switch off the Internet for a group or user, mark the "Disable Internet" check box. All future attempts to connect to the internet for the selected group or user will be blocked. The icon in the system tray near the clock should change its color to red.

  • iProtectYou Warnings


  • Select "Don't show iProtectYou warnings" if you do not want to receive iProtectYou warning messages. Please keep in mind that without such a warning the user will not know that a resource has been blocked.
    However, you can always review the full protocol of all blocked resources and reasons for those blockages in the log files. You can select the most appropriate warning from these two possibilities: amusing, child-friendly pop-ups for your kids or respectable auto-hiding pop-ups for your associates.

  • Custom Warning


  • You can set up your own warning message instead of those provided by default.
    To preview a Custom Warning, click on the "Test" button.
    If you mark the "Show custom warning" checkbox, but leave it empty, iProtectYou will not display any message at all. Keep in mind that without such warning, the user will not know that a resource has been blocked.
    However, you can always review the full protocol of all blocked resources and reasons for those blockages in the log files.

  • Warnings Theme


  • You can select one from several entertaining themes for a series of images that will accompany warning messages. Click on the "Preview" button to view all available themes.

  • Group Description


  • You can keep a group description in this field.

  • Enable filtering at startup


  • To enable the iProtectYou filtering for a selected group, when the program startup, mark the "Always enable filtering at startup" checkbox.

  • Enable strict filter for search engines


  • The iProtectYou integrates with "Safe Search" options found in popular search engines such as Google, MSN, Yahoo, etc. This means your children can't search on a search engine and even see links to blocked sites.

  • Forbid images section for search engines


  • This feature enables better protection against any images when doing an "image only" search.

  • Add new group and new user


  • To add a new group or new user, click the "New Group" or "New User" button. To delete an existing group or user from the list, use the "Delete" button. To rename the group or user name, use the "Rename" button. You cannot delete or rename the following groups: 'Administrators', 'Guests' and 'Users'.

    IMPORTANT:
         The iProtectYou application identifies a user by the same login name the user enters when he logs in to Windows. If you did not add a new login onto the user list of iProtectYou, the program ads them automatically to the "Guests" group. We recommend forbidding Internet access for the "Guests" group, if you do not want somebody from your family to work on the Internet anonymously.

    << Previous Page      Next Page >>



    About SoftForYou   Privacy   Legal   Contact Us

    Copyright  20002011  SoftForYou